Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2005-12-07 05:55:13

Bruce Hunter

Intro

Greetings!
Another newbie here. I like the longer flutes, mostly playing 37.5 inch and 40 inch flutes by Perry Yung. I study the honkyku, but find myself getting lost in the sounds. I like exploring the sonic possibilities of the instrument, and have punched some holes in a few pieces of bamboo for my own amusement. Current projects include exploration of multiphonics, and edge/flageolet tones.
Regards,
Bruce

Develop infallible technique and then lay yourself at the mercy of inspiration. - Anon.

#2 2006-03-13 19:43:39

bluespiderweb

Re: Intro

Bruce Hunter wrote:

Greetings!
Another newbie here. I like the longer flutes, mostly playing 37.5 inch and 40 inch flutes by Perry Yung. I study the honkyku, but find myself getting lost in the sounds. I like exploring the sonic possibilities of the instrument, and have punched some holes in a few pieces of bamboo for my own amusement. Current projects include exploration of multiphonics, and edge/flageolet tones.
Regards,
Bruce

Hello Bruce, and Welcome!

I'm new also, and I have a flute by Perry too, but mine is only 28.5"!  I feel kind of small next to your instruments!  Must be Shakuhachi envy, Ha ha!  Seriously, I would love to try one of the larger flutes like yours!  How different are they in tone and playability?

Did you start off on smaller shakuhachi, or did you just go for the big ones right off?  I tend to like the low tones on most flutes, and go for the lower keys usually, even if people say I should start on a higher one.  I can understand you getting lost in the sounds.

I want to get some bamboo too,  to try making some, just for the experience, and the off chance that I might be able to create something that sounds good enough to play!

Anyway, welcome too!

Last edited by bluespiderweb (2006-03-13 19:46:49)

Be well,  Barry