Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2007-04-11 11:00:40

shinkage ryu

Kyotaku

What is the main defining characteristic that sets the kyotaku apart from other shakuhachi?  I know it is a much larger instrument, but is that all?  I have been listening to Koku Nishimura recently and his playing is profound.

“What sort of person are you, really, inside and what lies concealed there?”—the shakuhachi will undoubtedly supply the answer"

(taken from: "Take No Kokoro" by by Kurahashi Yodo Sensei)

#2 2007-04-11 13:48:49

dstone
Website

Re: Kyotaku

shinkage ryu wrote:

What is the main defining characteristic that sets the kyotaku apart from other shakuhachi?

Hi Jack.  There might be a student of Koryu or Koku Nishimura on the forum.  You'll get your best answer from them.

In the mean time, I'm no expert but I've held and briefly played some kyotaku and I have a book and some photos of Koku Nishimura's collection.  I'll tell you what I think I know about the subject...

Kyotaku are thick-walled, long, and have wide bores, but not extremely wide for their length (and not as wide as some are making flutes even today).  Some (maybe all?) the bores are lacquered.  I can't recall if ji paste was used at all (this is an important distinction to some -- sorry I don't know this).  The angle of the mouthpieces were cut perhaps slightly more bluntly than most shakuhachi but not to an extreme as with some very wide bore flutes.  All the utaguchi that I recall and can see in photos have (ivory) inlays, neither Kinko nor Tozan, but maybe Myoan-style (or similar to Kinya Sogawa).  Inlay wouldn't affect the sound at all, of course.  Finger holes were larger than average.  Obviously, these are all one-piece flutes.  Tuning is, give or take, the same as shakuhachi.