Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2006-01-11 22:59:01

dstone
Website

Greetings, from Vancouver

Hi everyone.  I was just made aware of this site by Ed Beaty (edosan here, I believe).  Took a very quick browse... what a great resource for a beginner like myself!

Anyways, I'm Darren, I live in Vancouver, Canada, and I'm a student of honkyoku on jinashi shakuhachi under Alcvin Takegawa Ramos.  I've been studying for just over a year now.  I recently returned from Al's annual Shakuhachi Roots Pilgrimage and have photos of the whole, crazy three weeks to share if anyone's interested.  http://bitmason.com/photo/japan2005

Maybe I'll think of a few more things to say about the trip (besides "WOW") in the Miscellaneous Forum later...

Thanks to everyone here for making yet another great online community!

-Darren.

When it is rainy, I am in the rain. When it is windy, I am in the wind.  - Mitsuo Aida

#2 2006-01-11 23:57:43

dstone
Website

Re: Greetings, from Vancouver

Hmm.  I see others are giving a bit more breadth in their intros, so here are some more vital stats... 

I'm 36.  Previous to my current shakuhachi pursuits, I submitted myself during my teen years to Royal Conservatory Piano.  I dabble in electronics, including hacking together strange electronic musical instruments.  My academic training, professional life, and much of my free time (beyond blowing bamboo now) centers around computer science, math, game theory, and the like. 

Living in Vancouver keeps me close to the mountains, ocean, trees, and rain -- essential for my sanity.