Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2008-02-17 20:08:33

Eclipse
Troll

Help with Shakuhachi

I am new to the Shakuhachi. I have a PVC Shakuhachi that I brought a few years ago. It still sounds good and gives me that deep, calm, sorrowful sound. I have no idea how to play this flute. I printed out some fingering notations online but I do not know where to go from there.

It says that to get the octave, one must over blow. I over blow but all it gives me is a squeaky breathy noise, almost as if my breath were not enough (I assume this is normal for beginners).

Any advice for this new Shakuhachi player?

#2 2008-02-17 20:52:15

nyokai
shihan
Website

Re: Help with Shakuhachi

Hello and welcome.
My advice would be to take some lessons if possible. Where are you located?

#3 2008-02-17 21:20:09

Eclipse
Troll

I am located around NYC. Lessons seem expensive at the time if there are any. Is it possible to learn Shakuhachi by oneself?

#4 2008-02-17 21:37:57

withaquietmind
Website

I suppose you should decide what kind of shakuhachi future your interested first.  It is possible to learn to play without a teacher but you'll be missing much of what (I think) makes the shakuhachi the shakuhachi.  I think the playing skills you learn from a teacher are a relatively small part of the experience. 

I'm also very new to the flute (2 months or so) and I can say that having a regular teacher has improved my playing skills dramatically and also inspired me to even greater potentials and possibilities.  I'm takings lessons with Michael Gould online.  I understand there are other teachers on this forum that also offer online lessons. 

Then again, I hear that NYC is a shakuhachi goldmine smile

Welcome!

Last edited by withaquietmind (2008-02-17 21:40:09)

newborn on the bus-
where is your destination?
I'm going to work

#5 2008-02-17 21:47:29

Eclipse
Troll