Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2008-12-24 08:37:12

Boe Pyne

Hi from newbie, Boe

I am a musician (classical guitar). I first came by the shakuhachi about 15-20 years ago; an composer friend of mine had one - he didn't play it, it was just one of the many curiousities he had accumulated.  I knew as soon as I saw it that I would get a sound from it, I borrowed it for about 2 years and loved it for a while before it began to get ignored, at which point I returned it.
  About 3-4 years ago I remembered the thing and googled 'shakuhachi'. I ended up buying a Yuu from Niel's website, then a Monty student 2.4 from him, then a top level 2.8 from Monty himself - a truely wonderful thingy and such a nice guy.

#2 2008-12-24 08:55:56

Justin
Shihan/Maker
Website

Re: Hi from newbie, Boe

Hi Boe
Welcome to the forum. Which country are you in? Maybe near some of us other members. I'm here in Japan on the outskirts of Tokyo.
Hope you have a lovely Christmas!

Justin Senryu
http://senryushakuhachi.com/

#3 2008-12-24 13:28:55

Boe Pyne

Hi Justin,
        Greetings from the UK.

#4 2008-12-24 13:41:22

airin
Website

Nice to meet you Boe.

Are you currently studying with a teacher?

best of the holiday season to you!

Erin

#5 2008-12-24 21:25:23

Justin
Shihan/Maker
Website

Boe Pyne wrote:

Hi Justin,
        Greetings from the UK.

Hi Boe
Ah, whereabouts? I'm originally from the UK too, but came to live in Japan to study with the teachers here. Every once in a while I come back to England to visit family, show my instruments and offer lessons too.

If you're near London, there's Michael Coxall teaching there if you didn't already know. He's a very traditional teacher and really has the Japanese nuance. He's also  great guy, well worth studying with if you are interested in the traditional music.

Best wishes
Justin

#6 2008-12-25 03:38:23

Boe Pyne

Hi again,