Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2009-02-11 17:36:37

keyboard_komuso
Website

a DEEP rut

Greetings. Just joined the forum. What an amazing source of info! Thanks Ken and Brian for having such a fantastic meeting place for shakuhachi addicts! So here is my dilemma. I've been playing and studying formally for about 7 years. It wasn't until about the fifth year that I really felt I had a grasp on the instrument and actually began to ENJOY it. My tone was rich and I'd get that gratifying buzz, actually feeling the flute vibrate as I played. Oh Bliss! The last 6 months or so however, something strange happened. I just lost my tone! Talk about frustration!!! I'll have a good day here and there but for the most part my playing is CONSISTENTLY weak and shallow with a lot of breathiness to the tone. I'm on the same flutes I always use and have tried everything. Mouth position, flute angle, lip tension and jaw adjustment, etc. It's just...gone....Anyone else ever experience these extended periods and any thoughts on getting past them? Thanks all!

"Music is the space between the notes." -
Claude Debussy

#2 2009-02-11 18:27:04

Moran from Planet X
Website

Re: a DEEP rut

Where are you in New York?  James Nyoraku Schlefer has a reputation as being an excellent shakuhachi teacher.  http://www.nyoraku.bizland.com/  email is: james@nyoraku.com

It sounds like something an experienced teacher could help you with.

Last edited by Chris Moran (2009-02-11 18:28:00)

"I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass...and I am all out of bubblegum." —Rowdy Piper, They Live!

#3 2009-02-11 19:53:38

Jeff Cairns
teacher, performer,promoter of shakuhachi
Website