World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2009-02-15 19:31:40

Alan Adler

Hello and experimental flutes

Hello All,

This is my first post.

I am an engineer/inventor.  Wikipedia has a few words about me.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alan_Adler

I made some experimental end-blown flutes 25 years ago.  Now, after a long gap, I'm back.  In the past several months I've made about a dozen.  They are mostly tuned in the scale of D minor.  A few are tuned in F pentatonic major scale. 

I like very wide blowing edges.  They are equal in width to the bore diameter.  To my ear they have a powerful tone.  Bores range from about 17mm to 29mm.  Some have a square bore.

I'd like to visit with players and/or makers in my area.  I live in the Los Altos, California (SF Bay Area).

If you would like to get together, email me at aadler@sbcglobal.net.

Alan Adler

#2 2009-02-15 19:54:57

airin
Website

Re: Hello and experimental flutes

Welcome to the forum Alan!

Its great to see you here.

Do you happen to have any pictures of your flutes that you can post?

cheers,
Erin

#3 2009-02-15 20:57:12

Alan Adler

Erin asked me a few questions by direct email.  I'll answer here:

"As for the wide blowing edge, how much impact does it have on one's
embouchure?"

Probably not much, but that's one reason for getting together with a local player -- to get his/her comments.

"As well, often flutes with a powerful tones in the low notes have some
limitations when it comes to the second register and even sometimes don't
have much to offer when it comes to the third octave.  How do your flutes
handle the different octaves?"

I can only manage about halfway up the second register.  That may be due to me, or to my flutes.  Again, getting together with a local player could provide some answers.

I most enjoy improvising in the fundamental register.

Best,

Alan

#4 2009-02-15 21:21:55

airin
Website

Thanks for explaining Alan.