Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2009-07-28 05:27:08

deia

Greetings from Bulgaria

Hello, everybody smile I'm Deia and I'm from Bulgaria (Eastern Europe). I came across this site while looking for more information about shakuhachi because I really want to get one and learn. I find its sound really beautiful and soothing... I have no experience whatsoever, so I'll need advice where to buy one smile Actually the first time I heard about shakhachi was in a book by David Zindell, The Broken God, so I decided to do some research...I know this sounds extremely ignorant but forgive me, I'm just starting to explore smile

#2 2009-07-28 05:56:47

Bas Nijenhuis
Website

Re: Greetings from Bulgaria

Welcome and happy explorations! There are several. There should be more posts around on buying a nice student shakuhachi. You can search this forum for that. There are many places to get one, so it depends on which one you want to obtain.
I can recomend a shakuhachi Yuu, but it is my only experience, so I cannot compare. It is sturdy, capable of doing all stuff and has a good price.

Bas

Read more about my shakuhachi adventures at:
Bas' Shakuhachi Blog!

#3 2009-07-28 10:00:39

nyokai
shihan
Website

Welcome Deia!

Some suggestions on getting a student flute are available at http://nyokai.com/flutes.shtml

#4 2009-07-29 10:59:08

Yungflutes
Flutemaker/Performer
Website

Hi Deia, Welcome to the forum!
Someone gave me a Kaval and I found that more difficult than the shakuhachi. If you can make a note on the Kaval, you can probably learn shakuhachi smile
Enjoy the research!

"A hot dog is not an animal." - Jet Yung

My Blog/Website on the art of shakuhachi...and parenting.
How to make an Urban Shakuhachi (PVC)

#5 2009-07-30 01:36:13

Daniel Ryudo
Shihan/Kinko Ryu

Hi Deia,