You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

• Index
  •  » Practice
  •  » New Shakuhachi Players: Discoveries and Transitions

#1 2009-12-26 21:24:01

Todd Frederick

New Shakuhachi Players: Discoveries and Transitions

I am new to Shakuhachi. It took me over 6 months to discover how to position my lips and hold the flute to play one single note for a mere second. I even now rest the end of the shakuhachi on one knee to steady it so I don't lose the best angle. I also discovered that practicing inside the house where it is warm is much more effective than playing in my studio in the garage where it is cold. I also discovered that using a Yuu flute is a very safe and effective way to learn to play since it is made to produce correct standard tones for a 1.8 Shakuhachi (even though I have other bamboo shakuhachi that I play with and enjoy them greatly).

I am concerned that there are many who buy these flutes and just give up. They become decorations. Don't give up. That first note will come and it is a blessing but learning to play is neverending.

Does anyone have any discoveries that have helped you to find that first note and to transition to a new level of skill?

Being a Beginner is a Blessings, Toadosan (todd)

Last edited by Todd Frederick (2009-12-26 21:36:02)

#2 2009-12-27 00:32:02

airin
Website

Re: New Shakuhachi Players: Discoveries and Transitions