World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2010-02-02 12:18:38

mayberryjl
Website

No I'm not strangling the cats. Promise

Hello everyone,

So I just finished making my first pvc shakuhachi.  I have the feeling that was the easiest part of the process.  I've never played a wind instrument before as I'm a visual artist, but I decided the shakuhachi might be a good tool to use for meditation.  I've tried to read as much about the instrument as I can before going cross-eyed and viola now I have a lovely piece of plastic that makes a sound once in a bit before I need to draw another breath.

Any tips or hints would be greatly appreciated (especially in the area of producing and sustaining simple notes and embouchure).

Until.

Joshua

Growing feathers is easy.  It's the flying that takes practice.
~JLM

#2 2010-02-02 13:20:23

edosan
Edomologist

Re: No I'm not strangling the cats. Promise

mayberryjl wrote:

Hello everyone,

So I just finished making my first pvc shakuhachi.  I have the feeling that was the easiest part of the process.  I've never played a wind instrument before as I'm a visual artist, but I decided the shakuhachi might be a good tool to use for meditation.  I've tried to read as much about the instrument as I can before going cross-eyed and viola now I have a lovely piece of plastic that makes a sound once in a bit before I need to draw another breath.

Any tips or hints would be greatly appreciated (especially in the area of producing and sustaining simple notes and embouchure).

Until.

Joshua

Have a look at this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRS49JqD … re=related