Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2010-03-11 15:54:03

the-pupil

Greetings from Holland

Hi there people,

I found this site a while ago and got some info from it. But since i'm stuck and really like to know how to play the shakuhachi and know more about it, I thought it would be nice to make a profile and introduce myself.

My name is Luuk and i'm living in the south part of Holland. I'm a student in Social Studies and fond martial art practitioner (Pencak Silat). I love music and different cultures and people. I play the didgeridoo sometimes but i wanted to try something with more ridm and medoly in it. It had to be authentic so the shakuhachi popped up wink.
I already listened to the (kind of) flute when playing some meditation sounds. So now it's time to start learning.

I made 2 PVC type of Shakuhachi but i'm not sure if worked out well.. The sound just isn't there.

Well, we'll see what happens after several hours of practicing.

Ciao, Luuk

#2 2010-03-11 16:26:42

Dun Romin

Re: Greetings from Holland

Hi Luuk, I defenitely like to welcome a collegue Dutchman, shakuhachiplayer and Pencak Silat practisioner to this Forum of shakuhachi-addicts. Enjoy.

Tomorrow's wind only blows tomorrow. (Koji)

#3 2010-03-11 17:07:32

the-pupil

Thank you Dun Romin, the same goes for me.
I know your from Groningen, so that's hard to travel to. Do you know any practitioners in the south of Holland? Because for me it's impossible to travel to Amsterdam etc just for a lesson or tips for shakuhachi.

#4 2010-03-12 14:39:24

Bas Nijenhuis
Website

Welkom Luuk! Good luck with your first steps. You can conact Kaito (kaito.nl) to ask Kees, he might know more practioners in the south. I can recommend online lessons as a good way to start (and continue)

greetings,

Bas

Read more about my shakuhachi adventures at:
Bas' Shakuhachi Blog!

#5 2010-03-14 16:52:56

the-pupil