Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2010-03-19 09:41:40

markintheworld

a long-delayed hello...

Greetings!

My name is Mark, and after years of being part of this community, I would like to finally introduce myself:

I have been a sideline observer of the Shakuhachi Forum since 2006. This forum helps sometimes for inspiration, and always for entertainment.

I've been playing shakuhachi on my own for 4 years, after making PVC flutes based on Carl Abbott's recipe, and the extensive, educated ramblings of the Shaku Master Index on navaching.com. I have received no instruction in shakuhachi; it has been a personal journey. I followed Carl Abbott's book, "Blowing Zen," to a point. About a year ago I purchased a yuused Yuu 1.8, and have enjoyed the instrument. I dabbled a little bit in constructing a bamboo instrument, but to no satisfactory results yet.

I'm on & off with playing, but enjoy it as a meditative practice, and as a good pre-amble to a sitting meditation. When I play, my practice is as follows:

- I blow ro, sometimes doing sasa-buki a la Perry Yung (Thanks for the tutorial Perry!), and I play different sound shapes ( <> , <] , [> , >< , [-] , __ ).

- I play Honshirabe/Choshi (thanks to Alcvin Ramos' instruction), and play Kojo No Tsuki (Moonlit Castle Ruins) all over the flute (otsu & kan, starting on ro or re or ri or chi).

- I've also played Kyorei some, and just recently played along with some recordings of Kyorei and Choshi, which I found very helpful. I listen with headphones, so the sounds of the flutes merge.

- Sometimes I play whatever the flute and my fingers want to play.

I have found these simple practices to provide more than enough material to keep me occupied.