Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2010-10-20 13:44:45

llocust

Shakuhachi plunge

Hello all,

I am a complete beginner in this space and have only now begun to listen to Shakuhachi music in earnest.  I made a somewhat hasty decision and have purchased a 2.2 Shakuhachi on ebay from Taiwanese seller SamCruise5725.  It was described as "Perfect 2.2 Zan Tagaya Japan Bamboo Flute Shakuhachi".  The listing does not specify the key nor the accuracy of the tuning.  My decision process evolved from wanting a side-blown flute in a minor pentatonic scale to wanting a bamboo flute with root end.  I was also sensitive to the amount of money I would spend for my first flute, aside from a cheap side-blown flute I recently retrieved from the back of a dresser drawer and have now begun to play at the novice level.

It was only after making my purchase that I came upon this web site and the wealth of knowledge and information stored on these pages.  I now see that if I endeavor to play proper music in the Shakuhachi style I should invest in a quality instrument.  For my immediate plans I will wait to receive the flute I purchased, which will actually be a Christmas gift so my wait is longer than just the shipping time.  I hope that this flute will provide an entry to the world of Shakuhachi playing and that I am able to dedicate the time necessary to develop some proficiency. 

I am certain that a better quality Shakuhachi is in my future but hopefully in the interim I can learn much from my initial modest investment and enjoy many hours of playing.

Andy

Last edited by llocust (2010-10-20 13:56:59)

roots of bamboo wail
lament from shakuhachi
haunts for ancient wind

#2 2010-10-20 17:54:00

Jam

Re: Shakuhachi plunge