World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2007-03-06 16:00:14

marek
Website

volume of tsu-dai-meri

Hi,

Im having troubles with volume of tsu-meri and tsu-dai-meri in both otsu and kan. I just cant blow them with similar volumes as other tones. Is there any help? Thank you very much for your answer.

With respect,
Marek Matvija, Czech republic

In passionate silence, the sound is what I'm after.

#2 2007-03-06 20:12:53

Bogert

Re: volume of tsu-dai-meri

Hi Marek,
      I'm no pro, but generally speaking the tsu-meri and tsu dai meri notes should be quieter than normal notes.  Of course I'll let the pros speak, but that's what I was taught.
                                                                                             Chris

理趣経百字の偈
菩薩勝慧者 乃至尽生死 恒作衆生利 而不趣涅槃 般若及方便 智度悉加持 諸法及諸有    一切皆清浄 欲等調世間 令得浄除故 
有頂及悪趣 調伏尽諸有 如蓮体本染 不為垢所染    諸欲性亦然 不染利群生 大欲得清浄 大安楽富饒 三界得自在 能作堅固利

#3 2007-03-06 20:34:50

radi0gnome
Website

Bogert wrote:

Hi Marek,
      I'm no pro, but generally speaking the tsu-meri and tsu dai meri notes should be quieter than normal notes.  Of course I'll let the pros speak, but that's what I was taught.
                                                                                             Chris

If anyone can explain what tsu-meri and tsu dai meri is, there's at least one person out here (me) that would learn from it. I know otsu and kan are the two different registers, but I still don't know a lot of the terminology.

"Now birds record new harmonie, And trees do whistle melodies;
Now everything that nature breeds, Doth clad itself in pleasant weeds."
~ Thomas Watson - England's Helicon ca 1580

#4 2007-03-06 21:36:44

edosan
Edomologist

radi0gnome wrote:

If anyone can explain what tsu-meri and tsu dai meri is...

Here's the deal--going successively down in pitch:

Tsu (F on a 1.8)