Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2008-09-14 06:38:01

Jason Castner

eric the flute maker

anybody ever own any flute that he made?  How did ya like it?  simple yet nice tone?
I have one that is transverse and sounds very beautiful for being 30 bucks.

north south east and rest of my life...I'm single but the Tao is my wife?

#2 2008-09-14 13:05:18

madoherty

Re: eric the flute maker

I purchased a flute-making kit (transverse) from him a few years back that got me started on making wind instruments.  His stuff is good for the money I think- depending upon what you are looking for.  The flute that I received that was called "oriental" was unfortunate.  He does a good job at mimicking the sounds of different regions flutes by using different shaped bores.  I have no experience with his higher-end flutes that are tuned A440, or with the decorated finishes.  I know that he grows and harvests his own bamboo, and that it is the best bamboo that I have seen for transverse and end-blown flutes that are played obliquely.  I have been using his bamboo for my end-blown (non-shakuhachi) flutes ever since.

#3 2008-09-14 14:38:25

geni
Performer & Teacher
Website

I tried a so-called shakuhachi of his. It was not a shakuhachi:-)

#4 2008-09-15 03:32:52

madoherty

geni wrote:

I tried a so-called shakuhachi of his. It was not a shakuhachi:-)

Yeah, I just watched the video he has on his website about his "shakuhachi" and he says at the end that really it is a quenacho (big quena)- that is, with an Andean style mouthpiece.

#5 2008-09-15 07:54:39

Sweep

Yes, I have two flutes of his, the Arabian flute and the one that's been mentioned already, `the shakuhachi.'

They're good flutes with a good tone and Erik himself is helpful and very committed to what he does.